For More info Call - 206.753.9000
Teen Driving Program
What's the minimum age to start ?
15 by the first day of class
How do I get my permit?
In the registration process you will be required to give you Washington state Id number or pre-application confirmation number from the Department of Licensing website at -- https://secure.dol.wa.gov/home/serviceType.aspx This number will then be entered into there system once you are enrolled in the class, within one business day from receipt of registration. You will only be able to get your permit 10 days or less prior to class. If your student is 15 ½ they can read the Washington Drivers Guide and take the exam to obtain their permit.
How do I register for the course?
Click on our registration tab and follow the instructions on the page, be sure to hit the send e-mail button before going to paypal to pay for the course.
Do I have to make up a missed class session?
You are allowed to miss and make-up up to three classes.
Can I cancel a drive appointment?
Drive appointments can be canceled more than 24 hours in advance with no fee. If canceled with less than 24 hours, there is a $20 fee.
Once the classes begin, how long does my student have to complete the Street Law Driving School Training course?
The course must be completed within 4 months from the start date.
What are the minimum requirements for successful completion of Street Law Driving program?
Complete all 15 classroom sessions (30 hours of instruction).
Complete 4 hours of Simulation .
Complete 5 One-Hour behind-the-wheel driving sessions.
Complete 1 hour of observation sessions.
Street Law Driving School issues a Traffic Safety Education Certification of Completion.
Does Street Law Driving School offer Dol written and drive skills testing?
Yes, we do please refer to our Test Center page http://www.streetlawdrivingschool.com/test_center.html
Once I complete the Street Law Driving School Training course, what do I need to do next to get my license?
Have an instruction permit for at least 6 months. Get at least 50 hours of supervised driving practice (including 10 hours at night) with someone who has been licensed for 5 years or more. Not have any traffic violations within 6 months of applying for the license. Not have been convicted of any alcohol or drug offense while holding an instruction permit. If you’re less than 16 years old, you must have had your instruction permit for at least 4 months and be within 60 days of your 16th birthday. If you’re between 16 and 18 years old, you must have had your instruction permit for at least 4 months from the date of issue.
What is an Intermediate Driver’s License?
If you’re under 18, you’ll be issued an intermediate driver license and must follow these special rules:
For the first 6 months, you can’t drive with passengers under the age of 20 unless they’re members of your immediate family (such as a spouse, child, stepchild, or siblings, both by birth and marriage).
For the next 6 months, you can’t carry more than 3 passengers who are under 20 years old and aren’t members of your immediate family.
For the first 12 months, you can’t drive between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m. unless you’re with a licensed driver age 25 or older. The only exception to this rule is driving for agricultural purposes (transporting farm products or supplies under the direction of a farmer as described in RCW 46.20.070).
You aren’t permitted to use wireless devices while driving, even with a hands-free device. This includes talking on cell phones and sending or receiving text messages. You may only use a wireless device to report an emergency. All restrictions are lifted after one year from the date the student obtains a license, unless the teen is involved in a crash or has a moving violation, in which case the restrictions remain in place until the student is 18 years old.
These restrictions are extremely effective in reducing injury and death to teenage drivers. Parents believe that the restrictions don’t go far enough and they decide to impose their own additional restrictions on their young drivers. For current laws, you can refer to a copy of the Washington State Driver Guide or the guidelines posted on the WA State DOL's website @ dol.wa.gov
Beginning Adult Program
How do I sign up for lessons?
Contact our office for cost and availability
What is the average number of lessons?
The instructor will evaluate your driving experience then provide you with a plan for you to be successful behind the wheel.
Do I need to take a test to get my permit?
No, you can sign up for drive lessons and receive a waiver to obtain the learners permit
Can I use my own car?
The Drivers Training vehicle is equipped with a dual brake and is required for teaching behind the wheel.